Feast your eyes on a top food event in North Wales

Welsh food
Vegan chef Lee Watson

There’ll be a feast of an event in Conwy this weekend.

Gwledd Conwy, or Conwy Feast, will be held in the town on Saturday and Sunday.

There’s everything a foodie could want on offer – street food, chef demonstrations, a tasting kitchen, and Lancaster Square is the perfect location for Conwy’s local produce market.

Meat, fish, fruit, vegetables, cakes, jams, chutneys, eggs, bread, pies, chocolates and cheese will be some of the produce on offer over the weekend.

Chefs on the line-up include Lee Watson, the author of the new vegan cookbook ‘Peace and Parsnips’ and one half of the presenting team of 24 Hour Kitchen’s ‘Meat vs Veg’.

He is a food adventurer who travels the world making vegan versions of local dishes, combining two of his main passions; travel and cooking.

Lee is based in North Wales, where he cooks at Trigonos, a retreat centre and organic vegetable farm, and writes the blog The Beach House Kitchen focusing on local, seasonal produce given a regular global twist.

Lucknam Park Spa and Restaurant’s Hywel Jones is also set to cook for the crowds, alongside John Williams, who has worked in some of the best hotel and restaurants in Great Britain.

chefs
John Williams

John  trained originally in South Wales and Jersey and he became Head Chef at the Old Vicarage Hotel, Worfield, Shropshire, was Head Chef at Bodysgallen Hall between 2003 and 2007 and in this time he achieved and  maintained the accolade of 3 rosettes from the AA, and secured Bodysgallen’s highest rating to date in the Good Food Guide.

John is also a Master Chef of Great Britain in which he has been awarded a fellowship. There are  only 30 or so members of the culinary elite  in the UK -the title given to craftsmen who have held a Michelin star and three rosettes for 10 years or more.

John Emmerson and Joe Kerswell trained at Jamie Oliver’s Fifteen restaurant in London.The two friends now work together at Anna Hansen’s widely acclaimed restaurant The Modern Pantry in Clerkenwell.

John and Joe will be giving a joint demonstration at this year’s Conwy Feast, using classic Welsh ingredients such as Welsh salt lamb or Welsh black beef.

Becws
Beca Lyne-Pirkis

TV chef Beca Lyne-Pirkis is also on the menu. She reached the semi finals of The Great British Bake Off in 2013, and is now the star of her own show Becws on S4C. Watch Beca in action here (via Becws TV, YouTube):

The crowds will also see Ian Watson, who started his career as an apprentice at Bodysgallen Hall Hotel.

He worked at The St Tudno Hotel in Llandudno for seven years during which time they were awarded three AA Rosettes.

Since 2000 he has been the owner chef of Watson’s Bistro in Conwy, from where he has earned a reputation for providing fine cuisine using locally-sourced produce.

Tasting Kitchen sessions:

Saturday

11.00 Trealy Farm

12 noon Castell Gwyn with chef Mike Evans

13.00 Bodnant Welsh Food Centre

14.00 LFR Direct with Lee Watson

15.00 Sabor de Amor with Brian Hansen

16.00 Beri Da with Ian Gray

Sunday

11.30 Barcut Rose Veal with Brian Hansen

12.30 Daffodil Foods with Mike Evans

13.30 Castell Howard with Hefin Roberts

14.30 Cwm Farm Charcuterie with Chris Leach
15.30 Aerona

TICKETS:

Weekend ticket: Adult £13, under 16s go free (valid all day Saturday, Saturday night music on the Quayside, all day Sunday).

Saturday ticket only: Adult £8.50, under 16s go free (valid all day Saturday, Saturday night music on the Quayside)

Sunday ticket only: Adults £6.50, under 16s go free.

Entrance to the music marquee and bars is free on Saturday and Sunday with a valid wristband

OR

£5 on the door after 5pm on Saturday

£5 on the door all day on Sunday

In the River Food Hall:

Aberffraw Biscuit Co Ltd http://www.aberffrawbiscuits.com Welsh shortbread called Aberffraw biscuits
Aerona aerona-liqueur.co.uk Aronia berry based products
Anglesey Farmhouse Chocolates http://www.foelfarm.co.uk Fine artisan handmade chocolates
Barcut Rose Veal http://www.barcutveal.co.uk rose veal meat produce various cuts and cooked option to sell as tasters
Beri Da http://www.berida.co.uk fruity Aronia berry vinegar and a range of Aronia chutneys
Bim’s Kitchen http://www.bimskitchen.com African-inspired sauces and condiments
Blaenafon Cheddar Co Ltd http://www.chunkofcheese.co.uk Speciality award winning hand made Welsh cheddar & goats cheeses.
Bodnant Welsh Food http://www.bodnant-welshfood.co.uk Cheese, bread, butter, pies, burgers & sausages
Bragdy Nant Www.bragdynant.co.uk Bottled beer
Burtree Puddings http://www.burtreepuddings.co.uk Christmas and Sticky Puddings, Farmhouse baking
Cariad Gelato http://cariadgelato.cymru/ Gelato & Sorbetto with freshly made waffles
Caws Cenarth Cheese http://www.cawscenarth.co.uk Artisan Organic Cheese, and speciality cheeses
Celtic Pride http://www.chfoods.co.uk Celtic Pride pies and slices
Celtic Spirit Co http://www.celticspirit.co.uk Liqueurs and Spirits from Wales
Chocopassion http://www.chocopassionuk.com Hand Made Italian chocolate Shaped Tools
Cnwc Crackers http://www.foodies.mynewsite.link/cnwc-crackers Savoury Crackers
Condessa Welsh Liqueurs http://www.condessa.co.uk Liqueurs from Anglesey
Conwy Brewery Ltd http://www.conwybrewery.co.uk Bottled Beer & Brewery Merchandise
Cwm Deri Vineyard cwm-deri.co.uk Welsh wines, mead and liqueurs
Cwm Farm Charcuterie http://www.cwmfarm.net Beer Stick (Snack Salami); Chorizo with Port
Daffodil Foods http://www.daffodilfoods.co.uk Layered Yoghurts
Driftwood Designs http://www.driftwooddesigns.co.uk Welsh art with coastal themes. Framed prints, posters and cards.
Eboni ac Eifori eboniaceifori.co.uk Award winning fudge, toffee, and toffee sauces
Edwards of Conwy http://www.edwardsofconwy.co.uk Welsh Sausages, burgers, meatballs, pies
Fire foods http://www.firefoods.co.uk chilli gift hampers, chilli grinders,chilli snacks
Flavour Magic brooksdelicatessenltd.com Spice rubs, Infused flavoured rock salts
Food Station Wales http://www.foodstation.wordpress.com Olives, Nuts, Baklava & Turkish Delight
Food Technology Centre foodtech-llangefni.co.uk Promoting technical support services for food businesses
Forever Fudge http://www.foreverfudge.co.uk 30 flavours of fudge, peanut brittle, nougat and cinder toffee
French Flavour http://www.frenchflavour.co.uk French Artisan Foods ,Garlic Strings, Onions, Cider, Pates
Funky Nut Company http://www.funkynutco.com Range of natural and flavoured peanut and nut butters
Goch & Company Ltd http://www.gochandcompany.co.uk African Gluten free Chilli sauces,Chilli Flavoured Oils Salad Dressing
Goetre Farm Preserves http://www.goetrefarmpreserves.co.uk Jams, chutneys, mustards, honey & marmalade cakes
Great Orme Brewery http://www.greatormebrewery.co.uk Real ale & related merchandise
Halen Mon http://www.halenmon.com Sea salt
Harvies Ltd N/A Gluten Free pies and pastries, welsh cakes
La Triestina Ltd http://www.latriestina.co.uk Italian Deli products
Llaeth y Llan llaethyllan.co.uk Chilled dairy yogurt
Llanvalley Natural Products http://www.llanvalley.co.uk/ Goatsmilk Soaps, Creams and Balms with Honey & Beeswax
Love Cheesecakes lovecheesecakes.com Chilled fresh cheesecakes
Magic Knife Company http://www.magic-knife.website Kitchen knives, sharpener, magnetic holder, scissors and peeler
Mama Zo’s Cakes & Cookies Facebook: Mama Zo’s Cakes & Cookies Cookies, lemonade & raspberry lemonade
Marbletree http://www.marbletree.co.uk Handcrafted marble and slate gifts
Megans Kitchen N/A Handmade Welsh Cakes and Bara Brith
Mocha Express http://www.mochaexpress.co.uk Coffee , Tea , Hot Chocolate , cakes and snacks
Mr Fitzpatricks http://www.mrfitzpatricks.com Traditional Cordials Dandelion & Burdock Sarsapirilla
Narnas http://www.narnaschocolates.co.uk Cakes and confectionery
Natural Game / Seasons Www.naturalgame.co.uk Gourmet range of British game, poultry and exotic meats
Orchard Pigs Www.orchardpigs.co.uk Meat pies, scotch eggs, artisan bread, cakes and biscuits
Oscars Kitchen http://www.oscars-kitchen.co.uk Homemade traditional sweet and savoury preserves
Pant Du http://www.pantdu.co.uk Welsh wines, cider and water
Pen-y-lan pork .facebook:welshsausage Gold Award Handmade sausages & meatballs
Purple Moose Brewery http://www.purplemoose.co.uk Bottled beer, gift packs and related brewery merchandise
Radnor Hills http://www.radnorhills.co.uk Heartsease Farm sparkling fruit presse
Retro Shots http://www.retroshots.co.uk Handmade flavoured vodka, chilli & Drunken Bee Honey Infused Spirits
Roberts Country Fayre http://www.robertscountryfayre.co.uk Cold Eating Pies
Rosie’s Triple D cider http://www.rosiescider.co.uk Rosie’s Triple D cider, Rosie’s Wicked Wasp cider and Rosie’s Black Bart cider
Sabor de Amor http://www.sabordeamor.com Handmade Spanish products, Paella sce, Tapenade, Salsa Brava, Alioli, Spanish Preserves
Snowdonia Cheese Co Ltd http://www.snowdonia-cheese.co.uk Snowdonia cheeses will be available with gift packs and special offers
South Caernarfon Creameries sccwales.co.uk Dairy produce cheese and milk
Spanish Hamper http://www.thespanishhamper.co.uk Chorizo , sobrasada & sangria
The Dangerous Food Company http://www.dangerousfoodco.co.uk Fiery fruity jams made using fruits and chillies
The English Chocolate Fountain Co http://www.tecfc.co.uk Belgian Chocolate Fountain, marshmallows, fruits, fudge and cream in cups and on skewers
The Flavoured Butter Co N/A Selection of flavoured butters
The Gift of Oil http://www.thegiftofoil.co.uk Olive oils & balsamics
The Little Round Cake Comany http://www.thelittleroundcakecompany.co.uk Tweeners (mini layer cakes), tarts, merangz and merangz ‘bites’
The Magnificent Marshmallow Company http://www.themagnificentmarshmallowcompany.com Marshmallows flavoured with fruits, oils and natural flavourings
The Patchwork Traditional Food Company http://www.patchwork-pate.co.uk Handmade artisan pate
Trealy Farm Charcuterie http://www.trealyfarm.com Charcuterie products
Two Guys from Brussels facebook:TwoGuysfromBrussels Belgian Speciality food and drink
Ultimate Fudge Outlet http://www.ultimatefudgeoutlet.co.uk Homemade traditional & speciality fudges
Warner Edwards Distillery http://www.warneredwards.com Harrington Dry Gin, Elderflower,Rhubarb & Sloe Gins

Street food vendors:

American Street Food Limited facebook.com/dixiekitchenUK Pulled pork, shredded beef hot dogs chutney & coleslaw
Anglesey Hog Roasts http://www.angleseyhogroasts.co.uk Hog and ham roasts with side salads and special sauces
Arjee Bhaji facebook:arjeebhaji Indian street food, curry & kebabs
Bank of Conwy http://www.vonomondo.co.uk Sangria & Tapas
Bwyd O’r Mor N/A Menai Mussels,Bass,Skate,Mackerel,Plaice,Squid,Octopus
Caffeine Rush N/A Coffee , Tea , Hot Chocolate, cold drinks
Celtic Country Wines http://www.celticwines.co.uk/ Fruit wines, liqueurs, seasonal giftboxes, mulled elderberry wine
Chuckwagon bbq http://www.chuckwagonbbq.co.uk Pulled Pork,chicken, brisket,bbq beans and pickles
Churros con Chocolate http://www.lovely-churros.co.uk Handmade & rolled churros with chocolate sauce
Continental Catering http://www.continentalcatering.com Bavarian smoked sausage, paprikawurst, frankfurter, frikadelen
Crave de Taste N/A Caribbean dishes with fish, meat rice dumpling & vegetables. Tropical fruits & smoothies
Debbies delights N/A Chipsticks & Jacket Potatoes with various fillings
Fodder in the Field http://www.fodderinthefield.co.uk Banger and Mash
Fratelli Brothers firedupfood@hotmail.com Authentic Neapolitan pizza baked in a clay wood fired oven
Fresa con Crema/Choco Art N/A Strawberries & Cream/cakes
Fresh Butter N/A Fresh hand churned butter
Fried & Wine friedandwine@gmail.com Deep fried seafood and vegetables with prosecco
Heavy Industry Brewing Ltd http://www.heavyindustrybrewing.com Bottled/Canned beer & charcuterie Cooking on site
Joles Gourmet http://www.facebook.com/jolesgourmet Casadias, baguettes, muffins, Cakes
Kababoom Kitchen twitter.com/kababoomkitchen Persian street food Kofta and Falafel, Kebabs
LFR Direct http://www.lfrdirect.co.uk/ Fruit & Vegetables
Luke’s Cocktail Bar http://www.lukescocktailbar.co.uk Alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails
Mango Rays http://www.mangorays.co.uk Chilli & Curry and Smoothies, Mulled wine
Mela Food Co N/A Tortilla wraps – chicken tikka, falafel, Samosa and Bhaji
Moorish Cuisine http://www.grovefarmshawbury.co.uk Moroccan food such as Tagines with cous cous and flat bread wraps
Old Sandlin N/A Apples, Pears, Plums, Apple and Pear Juice, Quinces
Pizza Peddlers http://www.pizzapeddlers.co.uk Wood fired pizzas using the finest local and seasonal Welsh produce available
Primo Cafe primocafe.co.uk Gourmet coffee, tea and hot chocolate + artisan cakes
Rigatoni’s Pasta http://www.rigatonispasta.co.uk Gluten free Pasta & Sauces, Gluten free garlic ciabatta bread Bacon rolls, hot drinks
Simply Crepes N/A Sweet & Savoury Crepes Cooking
Somtam http://www.somtamthai Thai fish cakes, Chicken satay, Thai Curry, Egg Noodles
The Flintshire Street Food Company Ltd flintshirestreetfood.co.uk Sweet, Savory & liqueur french style crepes made to order
The Ham Bone http://www.hambone.co.uk World flavours of chicken
The Pembrokeshire Beach Food Company http://www.beachfood.co.uk Lobster wraps, Crab and Seaweeds
The Rustic Cooks https://www.facebook.com/rustic.cooks Continental smoked sausages cooked on a 1950s army field kitchen
The Shropshire Spirit Co. http://www.shropshirespiritco.co.uk Salopian Spirits, Vodka, Rum, Gin
The Wrap Shack.co.uk http://www.thewrapshack.co.uk Hot filled wraps chicken shish, chorizo & chicken, smoked mex beans & salad bar
Top Pot N/A A new concept in fast food
What you Like Catering N/A Potato cakes with beef, field mushrooms, crab and prawn
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s